19.—Legislatures and Premiers of Ontario 1934-58 and Ministry as at Sept. 1, 1958 Legislatures 1934-581

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of	
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution	
June 19, 1934 Oct. 6, 1937 Aug. 4, 1945 June 4, 1945 June 7, 1948 Nov. 22, 1951 June 9, 1955	10th. 20th. 21st. 22nd. 23rd. 24th. 25th.	3 8 2 4 4 4 5 ₂	Feb. 20, 1935 Dec. 1, 1937 Feb. 22, 1944 July 16, 1945 Feb. 10, 1949 Feb. 21, 1952 Sept. 8, 1955	Apr. 9, 1936 June 30, 1948 Mar. 24, 1948 Apr. 27, 1948 Oct. 6, 1951 May 2, 1955	

¹ The Ministries from 1934-58 were: 11th Ministry sworn in July 10, 1934, under the leadership of Hon. M. F. Hepburn; 12th Ministry sworn in Oct. 21, 1942, under the leadership of Hon. G. D. Conant; 13th Ministry sworn in May 18, 1943, under the leadership of Hon. H. C. Nixon; 14th Ministry sworn in Aug. 17, 1943, under the leadership of Hon. George A. Drew; 15th Ministry sworn in Oct. 10, 1948, under the leadership of Hon. Thomas L. Kennedy; 16th Ministry sworn in May 4, 1949, under the leadership of Hon. Leslie M. Frost.

² Life of Legislature not expired at Sept. 1, 1958.

Sixteenth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 9, 1955: 84 Progressive Conservatives, 11 Liberals and 3 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation.)

NOTE -	0	1 1		1.	T-	L1_	12	
NOTE.	Nee	near	note	to	1 a	nie	La.	

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Prime Minister and President of the Council. Secretary and Registrar. Minister of Labour. Minister of Public Welfare. Minister of Public Welfare. Minister of Health. Minister of Municipal Affairs. Provincial Treasurer and Minister of Public Works. Minister of Planning and Development. Attorney-General. Minister of Travel and Publicity. Minister of Travel and Publicity. Minister of Reform Institutions. Minister of Mines and Minister of Lands and Forests. Minister of Mines and Minister of Lands and Forests.	Hon, Leslie M. Frost Hon, George H. Dunbar. Hon, Charles Daley. Hon, W.M. A. Goodfellow. Hon, Louis P. Cecile. Hon, Mackinnon Phillips. Hon, W.M. J. Dunlop Hon, W.M. K. Warrender. Hon, James N. Allan. Hon, W.M. M. Nickle. Hon. A. Kelso Roberts. Hon, Bryan L. Cathcart. Hon. Bryan L. Cathcart. Hon. Matthew B. Dymond. Hon, Jos. Wilfrid Spooner. Hon, Frederick M. Cass.	Aug. 17, 1943 Aug. 17, 1943 Jan. 7, 1946 Sept. 17, 1948 Aug. 8, 1950 Oct. 2, 1951 Jan. 20, 1955 Jan. 5, 1955 Jan. 20, 1955 Aug. 17, 1955 Aug. 17, 1955 Aug. 17, 1955 Aug. 18, 1957 July 18, 1957 Apr. 28, 1958	May 4, 1949 Aug. 17, 1943 Aug. 17, 1943 Aug. 1, 1956 Aug. 17, 1955 Aug. 8, 1950 Oct. 2, 1951 Nov. 1, 1956 (Apr. 28, 1958 May 14, 1958 Aug. 17, 1955 Aug. 18, 1958 Apr. 28, 1958 Apr. 28, 1958 Apr. 28, 1958 Apr. 28, 1958
Minister without Portfolio Minister without Portfolio and 2nd Vice- Chairman, Hydro-Electric Power Com- mission	Hon. John Yaremko Hor. Robert W. Macaulay		May 26, 1958

Subsection 7.—Manitoba

Besides a Lieutenant-Governor, Manitoba has an Executive Council composed of 10 members and a Legislative Assembly of 57 members elected for a statutory term of five years. The Honourable John Stewart McDiarmid, Lieutenant-Governor of the Province at Sept. 1, 1958, was commissioned to office Aug. 1, 1953. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the 1951 Year Book, p. 94.

The Premier of the Province is paid a salary of \$10,000 per annum and each of the other Members of the Cabinet \$8,000. Members of the Legislature are each paid an indemnity of \$2,000 and an expense allowance of \$1,000. The Leader of the Opposition is paid an additional amount of \$2,500 and the Speaker of the Legislature an additional amount of \$2,500.